top of page

GOMA

Updated: May 29, 2021

One od the buildings I am drawing from is GOMA. On a visit to the Glasogow Gallery of Modern Art I was surprised by the history of the building and the fact that the original owner William Cunninghame was a slave trader. It got me thinking about all the beautiful features of the building and the wealth gained on the backs of slavery. I was doing a wearable art unit at the time and created a piece connecting to the features of the building in the form of a collar the front ornate like the features of the building but at the back a slave collar and chains relating to the buildings darker history.


This led me to creating a small abstract book based on the decorative elements of the building. I am still working on this small book and ideas for bigger pieces. I did a few A5 sketches and then created some experimental Lino prints. I focussed on the first image only.

The first print is over watercolour, the scond over an abstract dawing and the third is printed over other building prints. Overall these created quite interesting patterns which may make interesting fabric patterns.


I also painted an A2 painting in acrylic. I am really happy with this is it very bold and striking. I had planned to make companion pieces and focus again on slavery but I decided to try other things for now and come back to this topic another time.








2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page