top of page

Tranquility

Updated: May 29, 2021

I am part of a local art collective called GOSSIP Collective and they have been running online lectures. One called Tranquility. This has been led by a writer called Liza Myles and she brings something of interest she has discovered each week. It is usually a poem and we have a discussion and go away and think about it and respond in any way we would like.


The groups are a getting together of poets, writers, sculptors and visual artists.

Writer Liza Miles runs the sessions and usually reads a poem or something of interest that we respond to in our own way. This have been a really wonderful group to be part of and has been a great support during lockdown. It has led to me creating the artworks for BLEND Creates and a few others in response to the topics we respond to as part of these sessions.

These images were from 3 sessions. The first is the tree outside in my garden and I was thinking about the wonderful wildlife activity I have seen during lockdown. This tree is in winter and has no leaves but a type of ivy has taken oven and the birds love this. Wood pigeons nest in there and squirrels love to sit on its branches. I have enjoyed watching this activity and I thought the tree gives the idea of abundant life and a more positive outlook on life.


The second is in response to the poem anticipation by Emily Bronte. The quote “How spring can bring thee glory, yet, and summer win thee to forget” made me think about how we are in spring. These flowers were growing in my garden and the promise of warmer days and brighter lighter evenings beckoning.


The third was a response to self. Liza was talking about us being goddesses. I wasn’t sure about that concept but I thought more about myself and my life. This last piece is me in the mix of it all and still standing. Life is behind, is now and is before me with all that entails and I will stand and face the challenges that it brings.


These images were shared with the group and it was really great sharing mine, hearing the poetry and seeing everyone else’s response to the themes.


All of the projects I have been involved in have been really beneficial to my practice as it’s created a dialogue with others in a way that I have not done before. It was also great to connect with new people creatively in a way I have never done before.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GOMA

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page